20/20

Confession: I have to wear “corrective lenses.” These lenses distort the way my eyes actually see (or perceive) the world around me and affect the way my mind interprets what I am seeing. (Without them everything is a big, blurry mess.)

They say hindsight is 20/20 – meaning it is clear, defined, without the “blurry” or distorted view you had when (the now) past was happening.

That’s a load of crap!

Retrospection (looking back at your past) is not 20/20, you see it through the “corrective lens” of the present. Meaning? My present (along with every bit of my past) defines how I see my past and determines the lessons I learn (or choose to ignore) from my past. I can look back at an event in my past and see how it seemed bad at the time, but led to something better. I can also look back even later and see how both events were horrible and learn a completely different lesson, knowing now that I have it all figured out.

Any and all retrospection needs to be done through the “corrective lens” that is the Holy Spirit. Lean on Him; ask Him to reveal the truth of a given event or situation. Fortunately we don’t have to wait for it to be in the past to have 20/20 vision about things and stuff (even people) – He can provide it even now!

Leave a Reply

