Haggai 2.0

I “randomly” opened by bible to Haggai and started reading. I don’t know if I have ever really believed in coincidences (at least not since I was a kid), and I’m not gonna start now. Holy Spirit opened the scriptures to me in a new light this evening. I know I’ve read Haggai before, but not really digging into it and reading it with my heart… until tonight.

As I started reading about the state of God’s Temple (it was in ruins) and how God’s people were so obsessed with the other facets of their lives, I saw a spiritual parallel. Our hearts are His Temple and the things we do in our lives (while the Temple is in ruins) will not prosper. Very powerful stuff!

Then I went on to see how they started to rebuild the Temple and, although it was not to its former splendor, God blessed them and assured them it would be returned to its former glory – simply by laying the foundation and desiring it to be as God intended.

We have to learn to look at these OT scriptures through the lens of the Atonement! This side of the cross we lay the foundation of the Temple by putting our trust in Jesus (Mark 12:10) and He finishes the work (Hebrews 12:2) of building the Temple and bringing the Glory of God to it through the person of the Holy Spirit.

There was also a small passage in the second (and last) chapter that talked about having crops/fruits that had not yet been harvested… I was immediately reminded of the “Fruit of the Spirit” (Galatians 5:22-23) and was overwhelmed with the thoughts of how our spiritual fruit (well, mine at least) has not yet fully become “ripe.” Incredible stuff!

I was blown away and reduced to tears while reading an Old Testament prophecy. I am so thankful that the Lord is placing His Treasure in a common jar of clay such as myself.

Leave a Reply

