OMG

“Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit” – Matthew 28:19

This morning it struck me that we (Christians) tend to refer to God by preceding the reference with the word “the” especially when referring to the persons of the Trinity – God the Father, God the Son, God the Holy Spirit.

When I am reading my Bible, I often try to internalize the account as I am reading it – I was the woman at the well, I was Zacchaeus climbing the tree to see Jesus, I was the thief on the cross… But yet we refer to God as a distant entity, prefixing Him with “the,” making Him seem more like a thing (an it) than a person.

Let’s peel back our uber-religious outer layers for a minute and internalize God – God my Father, God my Brother (Savior, Redeemer, High Priest), God my Comforter. Why do we feel like we can only make God our own in an outburst of frustration or excitement – “Oh, my God!” What if He was our God in the grocery store, at our jobs, in church, and (Heaven forbid) in the secret place when we are alone with Him.

The Bible assures us that the veil has been torn; There is no separation from Him. He is in us and we are in Him. We are His people and He is our God.

Leave a Reply

