When Do We “Get” The Holy Spirit?

Last night at our men’s bible study (The King’s Mighty Men) we discussed the Holy Spirit, more specifically, when we receive Him (not it). We looked through the Book of Acts and as we went from the beginning toward the end we saw different “accounts” of how/when the Spirit was received. The Holy Spirit granted me some insight during the discussion that the book was being written (by a young doctor named Luke) as they went. The apostles didn’t have some “magical” divine knowledge of every aspect of the Holy Spirit as soon as Pentecost hit and their world was turned upside down.

So we left with the question still out there:
As believers, when do we get the Holy Spirit?

Pentecostal/Charismatic doctrine teaches that we receive the Holy Spirit when we are saved/born again. I found a verse (that I normally would have probably skipped over) while reading on my lunchbreak today (which I’m still on): ’… no one can say “Jesus is Lord” except in the Holy Spirit.’ (1 Corinthians 12:3 ESV)

This jumped off the page at me and I had to put it out there for the world (or at least the small portion of it that reads my blog) to see.

Immediately Holy Spirit reminded me of Romans 10:13 – “Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.

Incase you don’t see it, I will spell it out for you: You can’t get saved without the Holy Spirit! It is my belief that the Holy Spirit allows us to accept the Gospel and the teachings of the apostles. He softens our hearts and prepares our minds for the seed that is about to be planted. He (not some incredible evangelist) then prompts us to proclaim that Jesus is the Lord of our life.

It’s amazing how Holy Spirit can show you these truths when you are earnestly seeking Him and knowledge of Him. I didn’t get this from any book, friends. This is a gift from God, and His Word teaches me that the gifts He gives me are not for me, they are for His Church. So here it is… Please don’t shoot the messenger if happens to conflict with your personal beliefs.

Edit: What if the Holy Spirit had you before you knew you had Him?

Leave a Reply

