Close-Minded Christians

Christians are often thought of as being too close-minded in their theology: “Surely Jesus was a good person and moral teacher, but the only way to God? I’m sure He’s one way, maybe your way, but not the only way!” Even throughout Islam, Jesus is regarded as a Prophet, but surely not the Son of God.

You can’t really look at Jesus’ teachings without reading the (Christian) Bible. Here are a few quotes from Him and some thoughts of mine about them:

John 3:16
“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”

As a Christian, I can’t believe God is good or loving if He sent His only Son to be tortured and executed if there was any other way to bring salvation to the world.

John 14:6
Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

I also can’t believe Jesus was a good, moral teacher and a liar.

Please, hear me out… I am not intolerant of “unbelievers” in any way. I love having deep, rich discussions with others about their religious beliefs.

Do I believe that believing in and following Christ is the best path? Yes. Do I believe it is the only way? Yes. But don’t get offended, sit down with me and talk about it. Tell me what you believe and why… I’d love to have a dialog (a two-way conversation) with you.

The Internet is a very cold place with millions of one-way blasts from people with whole-hearted beliefs, trying to prove their point. (As you’ll see, much of what I post is meant to encourage my christian brothers and sisters, never to condemn anyone who believes to the contrary.) I’d much rather have a one-on-one, face-to-face conversation with a person that has passion for what he/she believes. I will not attempt to convert you as much as give you something to think about – I promise to do the same!

Leave a Reply

