Growing Up…

God’s Grace DOES allow you to be immature, unloving, self-righteous, and even hypocritical… But why would you want that?

When I was a child, I spoke and thought and reasoned as a child. But when I grew up, I put away childish things.
~1 Corinthians 13:11 NLT

Sometimes God will completely break addictions or remove all desire for something in your life that needs to go, sometimes He whispers it in your ear and waits to see what you do. Real growth in Christ cannot come until you learn how to make a decision to “put away childish things” and rely on His Strength to get you to the finish line.

I have been guilty of waiting on God to remove stuff from my life for way too long… I have entered a new season of life. I am not a victim: I have decided that certain things can not and will not continue. If I want to see change or growth, I have to step up and draw the line. I know He has my back in this and will give me the strength I need to make the change He put in my heart to make.

I know my salvation is not dependent on what I do, but my growth (spiritually and as a human being) is. I must follow His lead and make good choices. He always has my back, but that doesn’t mean He’s going to do EVERYTHING for me. Real maturity comes from not only knowing this, but accepting it and walking in it.

My kids now know that there are certain things that their mother and I just don’t do for them any more, and if they don’t do it it won’t get done. This is not unloving. On the contrary it is REAL love to help them grow. That is how God (Abba Father) works, too. Sure, He fixed stuff and removed stuff and did stuff for me early on that He’s not gonna do any more or I would spiritually remain a spoiled brat.

Thank you, Abba, for loving me enough to help me grow up and become all that you want me to be.

Leave a Reply

