Sent To Die

I often hear people say (and have said myself), “God sent His Son to die for you.” While I believe this is true, I also believe that this can lead to a twisted theology if not put in the correct context. It wasn’t a death sentence. Jesus wasn’t unwilling to go.

See, after 30 years (give or take) on Earth, Jesus knew physical pain and knew what awaited Him on the Cross. He said, “Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done.” (Luke 22:42 NIV)

Jesus didn’t run from what was coming, He faced it head-on. He did ask if there was another way, but never flexed His human will, which He could have done, and chose not to die.

I picture the scene in Heaven more like Isaiah responding to the Lord: Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?” And I said, “Here am I. Send me!” (Isaiah 6:8 NIV) He wasn’t forced to come to Earth and live among us, set an example for us, and die for us.

He wasn’t drafted… He volunteered.

Leave a Reply

