Freely You Have Received; Freely Give

I am able to admit when something in the Bible has me puzzled… Although, it is usually after I get clarification on it. (I could fill volumes with things that I just can’t wrap my mind around.) Anyway, my “ah-ha” moment of the day is found in Matthew 10:8 (NIV)

Heal the sick, raise the dead, cleanse those who have leprosy,drive out demons. Freely you have received; freely give.

To me, this said (past tense, because it says something different to me now), “you can heal the sick, raise the dead, cleanse lepers, and cast out demons if it has been done to you.” There is no biblical foundation for Jesus doing any of these for (to?) the apostles He just commissioned. However, after recently hearing a lot of teachings on authority (and how it pertains to the Kingdom), I get what it really means: “Freely you have received authority to do these things, freely exercise your authority on behalf of those you are among.”

Getting more authority doesn’t mean you get to boss people around, it means you have more responsibility. Don’t get me wrong, the apostles were not responsible for what was happening to the people, but they were responsible to do something about it because they had authority over the agent(s) causing it.

… with great power. comes great responsibility.

Leave a Reply

