Faith in the Midst of Real Life

Going through stuff isn’t fun. And no matter what someone told you to get you to say their “prayer of salvation,” life doesn’t magically get better because of your faith. This morning on the way to work, I was a little too caught up in my troubles (you know, just life stuff), and feeling pretty overwhelmed. I kept thinking about the bible verse that says, “My grace is sufficient for you…” and couldn’t wrap my brain around it. I mean, I know what it means, but I couldn’t see how that *looked* in regards to what I am dealing with. So I kinda meditated on it the rest of the way to work.

When I got to my desk and got set up for the day, I started reading that verse – the whole verse… ‘But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.’ (2 Corinthians 12:9 ESV) And it made a lot more sense! I started looking at it in several different translations and I then proceeded to explore the original Greek. (Yes, I’m kind of a geek.) The Greek word ‘astheneia’ is usually translated “weakness” or “infirmity” which actually means to have no strength (possibly as the result of an illness or disease, but not always) in mind and/or body. That tells me that when I have come to the end of my strength (physically and/or mentally), when I’m ready to throw in the towel… That’s when God goes to work.

That’s me… I have come to my wit’s end. I cannot figure it out with all of the brain power I have to think about it. I can’t fix it with all the elbow grease I have to apply to it. I have to give up. I have to surrender. But not to the issue, to the God who not only knows the way out of it, but the when and where as well.

I have already found comfort in knowing it is no longer my burden to shoulder alone. I am not at all deluded enough to think that the issue will evaporate because I am not trying to fix it anymore, but I do know that I am not alone in it and I don’t have to figure it out on my own. There may be some heavy lifting involved, but when it is needed I will have His strength to get me through.

I just checked… It’s still there. There’s no magic involved, but there is faith. Real faith produces evidence that it is there – the peace I feel right now (in the midst of the storm) is that evidence. I am not denying its existence or that it will have to be dealt with, but I’m not worried about it right now. Fear and worry may ebb and flow, but my job is to remember everything that got me to this place of peace this morning. My job is to find joy and thankfulness in knowing that it is already worked out and on the other side of it I will be a stronger person.

Leave a Reply

