What Is Faith?

I have been thinking a lot about faith lately.

What exactly is it? Where do we get it? What do we do with it?

Andrew Wommack says that faith is a bridge that enables us to bring what is already in the spiritual realm into the physical realm.

The writer of Hebrews defines faith in (what we refer to as) chapter eleven, verse one.

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. (NKJV)

Faith, it would seem, turns hope into substance and leaves evidence of what can’t be seen. I have once before heard a teaching and did some research on hope as well… Hope is seeing (in your “mind’s eye”) what does not yet exist, or seeing the potential of a person, place or thing.

Robby Dawkins loves to say that faith is spelled r-i-s-k. Faith has to be activated. This is what I struggle with most. It’s easy to say, “I believe in Jesus,” or “I believe in supernatural healing,” but if I’m not seeing healing manifest, do I really have faith in/for it?

Jesus said that if we tell a mountain to jump into the sea, with no doubt that it will happen, it will happen. I’ll admit I’ve never tried this, but then again, I’ve never had a mountain I needed moved.

What about where it says, “The righteous shall live by faith.” What does that look like?

Sometimes I think I have more questions than answers… I guess that’s why they call it a faith journey: a journey of faith, into faith, about faith, for faith.

Leave a Reply

