My God(-Shaped Box)

Last night as I was drifting off to sleep, my thoughts drifted toward God. I started to think about how He was my God. My personal God. Then a scene from the show ‘Last Man Standing‘ (which I recently started streaming via Netflix) where the dad in the show was telling his daughter about how his God was the angry, vengeful God of the Old Testament, and the girl, after previously talking about how God was forgiving, simply replied, “That’s not my God.”

Of course, I couldn’t sleep after that.

I know, we’re all supposed to have the exact same God. We do (even those that deny His existence). But, we all have a picture of God in us that we’ve imagined – a product of what we’ve read, what we’ve been told, and our experiences. Our personal God is often missing something that the actual Creator of the Universe is, and often includes something that He is not.

Our personal God fits in a box. It’s typically a fixed-size box to keep Him from getting to big or trying to take the place of too much of our stuff. It’s not good to keep God in a box, by doing that we put limits on Him. Of course, it’s hard not to have a God-shaped box, that’s kinda how our finite minds work. Maybe, just maybe, if we have to put Him in a box, it should be a stretchy box.

I called my blog ‘Thoughts on the journey with God we call life‘ because we are all on a journey with God… Just like the disciples on the road to Emmaus, He’s walking with us, telling us about Himself, revealing Himself to us, trying to show us His true nature.

I’m not going to go into my personal God-shaped box in this post, perhaps later. But I think it is important to acknowledge that not every one sees God in the same way you do – this will make communication with other go much more smoothly when discussing God-stuff, if we don’t get defensive (or offensive) about our God, how our God is better than your God, or worse yet demanding that others worship the God of your imagination.

Leave a Reply

